About

My name is Joshua David Stein. I'm a cookbook author (and co-author), journalist, food critic, children's book author, musician, artist and father who lives in Brooklyn, NY. Among my recent cookbooks are My America: Recipes from a Young Black Chef, with Kwame Onwuachi; Vino: An Essential Guide to Real Italian Wine, with Joe Campanale; The Nom Wah Cookbook, with Wilson Tang; and Cooking for Your Kids. Among my children's books are What's Cooking?, Can I Eat That?, Brick who Found Herself in Architecture, and Solitary Animals.

Previously I served as the restaurant critic for the Village Voice and the New York Observer. Currently I help put together Esquire's Best New Restaurant list. In a past life, I was the editor-in-chief of Blackbook magazine, the features editor at Departures, the co-founder and creative director of Stitch, a custom content studio that was part of Time magazine, and the editor at large at OUT magazine. My writing has appeared in The Guardian, Men's Health, the New York Times, New York magazine, Esquire, GQ, The Sunday Times, Hemispheres, Food & Wine and many more. Writing this all out makes me feel better about myself.